What Is The Junior Board?

The Children's TherAplay Junior Board is a philanthropic and volunteer opportunity for current high school students to get involved at Children's TherAplay. Founded in 2019, the Junior Board is led by Co-Presidents, and comprised of general board members. 

The 2021-2022 Junior Board is hard at work planning lots of fun events for our kiddos! Applications for the 2022-2023 Junior Board will open in Fall 2022. 

Download the Junior Board Info Sheet

Questions? Contact Emily McDermott

  • Mission and Pillars

    Missionmission and pillars

    The mission of the Junior Board is to advocate for children with special needs and spread awareness about The Children's TherAplay Foundation through impactful community engagement and member involvement. 



    The Junior Board is comprised of three foundational pillars, as voted on by the founding Executive Council. 

    1. Community: External outreach and marketing in the central Indiana community
    2. Involvement: Internal involvement with the organization, including board member experience and family engagement
    3. Impact: Planning and implementing fundraising initiatives and awareness events
  • Membership

    Membership   DSC_0152

    The Junior Board is open to any current high school students. Applications are currently closed for the Spring semester. Beginning in Fall 2021, applications will open on an annual basis at the beginning of the school year. 


    Membership Requirements

    • Junior Board members must be a current high school student.
    • Junior Board members commit to a term of one year (Fall-Fall).
    • Junior Board members attend monthly meetings at Children's TherAplay. 


    Membership Benefits

    • Opportunity to meet and work with high school students from across central Indiana.
    • Children's TherAplay staff will write a letter of reccomendation for Junior Board members completing one term on the board. 
    • Opportunity to gain important skills and experience such as leadership, marketing, recruitment, event planning, team building, and volunteering with a non-profit. 
    • Junior Board members have a front row seat to the transformational outcomes kiddos experience every day at Children's TherAplay through hippotherapy! 
  • Meet the 2021 Board

    2021 Executive Council


    Ella Griffin, Cathedral High School

    Abby Rotz, Cathedral High School


Events Calendar

15_188_2676095_2474841726_4 (1)

Horsepower500 Carnival & Parade

Join the fun as we celebrate the month of May with our incredible kiddos and families at a sensory-friendly carnival, and culminate in an All-Star Parade around the Children's TherAplay grounds!


Golf Event

The perfect excuse to get out on the links! 



Giddy up, y'all! It's TherAplay's signature fundraiser, Hoe-Down!

Events Calendar

15_188_2676095_2474841726_4 (1)

Horsepower500 Carnival & Parade


Golf Event

Join our online family. (It's fun!)